Makeuptini

Eye Lid Primers: LORAC, Smashbox and Urban Decay

Posted on: May 2, 2010

I ordered LORAC Behind the Scenes Primer product after reading all the great reviews on Sephora. I’ve used it several times and feel conflicted about it. It keeps the eyeshadow on my eyelid for hours and hours. It smooths on easily with good even coverage. It doesn’t irritate or dry out my skin either.

When I use it under my eye I notice that my eyeshadow and eyeliner smear and move down my skin quicker than when I use Urban Decay’s  Eyeshadow  Primer  Potion or Smashbox’s Photo Finish Lid Primer.

My sister recommended Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion and I loved how it gave my eyeshadow staying power.  Sadly it irritates my skin terribly. My eyelid gets puffy and cracked looking and then peels like I have a chemical burn. I’d have to put hydrocortisone cream on my eyelids at night and they’d still feel irritated and burned in the mornings. The skin irritation ended my use of Primer Potion.

After browsing through the local Sephora store I came across Smashbox’s Photo Finish Lid Primer. It works well but not as good as Urban Decay’s primer.  Happily, there is now skin irritation so I continue to use it and enjoy the reasonable staying power of my eyeshadow.

I was looking for something that would keep my eyeliner fresh under my eye which is why I decided to try LORAC Behind the Scenes Primer. It works better than the other two brands on my eyelid but worse on my under eye area than the other to products. At this point I’ll stick to using Smashbox’s Photo Finish Lid Primer until I find a better product.

What do you use to keep your eye makeup fresh?

Apparently the corners of my eyes are moist and I’m in a constant battle to keep my eyeliner from migrating down my face! GRRR!

Leave a Reply

  • None

Categories

