Makeuptini

Lip Smacker Not Lip Smacking Yummy!

Posted on: April 6, 2010

When I was a young girl I loved buying Bonne Bell Lip Smackers. I had a whole collection of flavors.

My favorite was my super sized Dr. Pepper Lip Smacker. It had a slight tint but not so dark my Mother would complain that it was too much like lipstick. And it smelled like the real Dr. Pepper soda.  Not like the 7Up flavor which didn’t smell like the real soda at all. I remember sitting in the back seat of the family car just smelling the open lip balm tube of Dr. Pepper Lip Smacker.

Sunday, as I browsed the makeup aisle I saw all the Lip Smackers. I haven’t bought one in years since I stick to mostly lipstick now. But one caught my eye.

The package read 100% Natural and it was Pink Guava flavor. It also contains Olive Oil, Aloe, Vitamin E, Beeswax and Pure Fruit Essence.  I like guavas and thought how cool to have a lip balm flavored and scented like one.

Well, the Lip Smacker did not live up to the packaging. The scent was very faint. Application was greasy/oily, not pleasant at all. And then there was the taste of the balm. It was flavorless and just tasted like I had olive oil on my lips. Ugh. Not evoking any sweet childhood memories

The 100% Natural Lip Smacker was such a disappointment.  I was going to use it as a night time lip balm so I could drift of to sleep dreaming of tropical islands full of guava trees.

Now it will just sit unused on my counter until I feel enough time has passed and I can toss it in the trash. I don’t think I can even use it to melt down into a mixitini lipstick. It’s just too oily it will make my lipsticks too sheer when I like them creamy.

Hardly the best $1.86 I’ve spent in a while.  At least it didn’t add calories to my diet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

    Categories

