Makeuptini

Want a Smashing Finished Makeuptini Look?

Posted on: April 4, 2010

I have combination skin. A really weird combination where it’s oily in my T-zone and yet I can have a dry patch of peeling skin even on top of a zit. It’s so bizarre.  By the end of the day my face makeup has an all over shine of oil on it.

I hate that but it does help keep the wrinkles at bay. Both my grandmothers have reasonably good skin with minimal wrinkles for being in their 70’s. Some day I’ll be an elderly broad with few wrinkles on my face. Cool. 🙂

But for now the oily face with dry patches is irritating.  I use 18 hour face makeup and 16 hour powder which help but sometimes I look like a cakey oily face at days end. I usually reapply my makeup in the evening if I’m going out again after a busy day. The evenings when I’m home I just wash it all off apply moisturizer and let my skin breathe.  The dry patches get hydrocortisone cream on them at night before bed time.

One product I’ve found that works wonders for my oil slick /cakey makeup face is Smashbox’s Photo Finish Foundation Primer. I saw it at Sephora a few years ago and always wondered if it worked but the price stopped me from trying it. It’s about $30 for a full size. Too much money in case I didn’t like it. Well at some point I earned a Sephora treat and they gave me a mini size sample of Photo Finish.

Wow! Does it work! I put it on after my moisturizer and then my face makeup. It keeps my face smooth with a “Finished” look that I’ve never been able to accomplish on my own with any other product. And at the end of the day my face has a glow instead of the oily layer look.

Unfortunately, I’m often in a hurry, running late so I forget to put Photo Finish on my face. But when I remember, Woo Hoo, look out! I’m ready for unexpected photo ops and feel great looking all day. (Not that my lifestyle often has any photo ops in it. Unless its family events. LOL.)  Smashbox’s Photo Finish adds a chic look-like-a-model feel to my makeup look  that I’m ready for a camera just in case one appears.

But that’s not all. Photo Finish makes my skin feel extra soft and smooth. When I accidentally brush my cheek I pause and stroke it again it feels so silky I’m amazed. No feeling rough spots or pimple bumps just smooth and even. I fall back in love with my skin when I’m wearing Photo Finish.

Today,  I even used it around my mouth to prevent my lipstick from feathering. It seemed to work. I’ll blog about it later after I test some other lipsticks and stronger colors like red.

If you want to test out Smashbox’s Photo Finish Foundation Primer, you can buy the travel size below at a more reasonable price. I use the original that is clear but there are several versions to help with complexion needs.   Here’s what the travel size looks like:

Travel Size

Leave a Reply

    Categories

